Langmatz receives Ernst-Pelz-Award for new ecopolytec material

14 July 2017
Manhole made from ecopolytec with high wood content impresses jury
Langmatz GmbH, based in Garmisch-Partenkirchen, has once again proven that the intensive research done by modern, innovative SMEs is driving forward technical developments and ecology. At a state reception with around 400 guests for the 25th anniversary of C.A.R.M.E.N e.V., Ilse Aigner, Minister of Economic Affairs and Media, Energy and Technology, awarded this year’s Ernst Pelz Award to Langmatz GmbH for developing and launching a manhole made with renewable, foam-moulded materials.

For more information on the award winners 2017 take a look at:

Award for the first ecological and sustainable manhole system
In her speech, Minister Ilse Aigner praised the important and successful research done by Langmatz GmbH. This newly developed material boasts not only renewable resources, but also excellent quality. Stephan Wulf, CEO of Langmatz, gave his thanks for the prestigious award, which will motivate the company to continue driving forward the potential of environmentally friendly materials. After the award ceremony, Peter and Jochen Pelz from the Ernst Pelz Foundation gave a welcome address to the guests. Jochen Pelz said future generations would benefit greatly from this research and that these are the ideas the Ernst Pelz Award seeks to promote.

Commitment to a modern, sustainable infrastructure
Ecopolytec, a material developed by Langmatz over six years of research, is a foam-moulded structure WPC material (WPC: Wood Polymer Composites) that, with 45 per cent wood content, is largely made from renewable resources. Ecopolytec binds CO2 for decades. This advance in material technology has made it possible to develop the first ecological solution for a manhole that is ideal for expanding high-speed fibre optic networks, while complying with all strength and durability requirements.
Langmatz receives environment orientated Ernst-Pelz-Award from minister of state Mrs. Aigner

Award ceremony (from left to right): Jochen Pelz, Peter Pelz, Ilse Aigner, Stephan Wulf und Josef Lohr from Langmatz (Picture copyright information: Barbara Rötzer)